Lend your expertise by being a speaking volunteer or join our education committee. Do you have a topic you would like covered or would you like to host and/or sponsor a learning session? Let us know!
To register for education courses online, go to the events calendar, find your education session and complete your registration, call us at (616) 281-2021 or email email@example.com.
LARA [Michigan Licensing]: 517-241-9316
Caps I,II, & III Three separate classes and a fee for each class. FEE: $220 Members / $320 Non-Members. The Certified Aging in Place Specialist (CAPS) designation program teaches the technical, business management, and customer service skills essential to competing in the fastest-growing segment of the residential remodeling industry: home modifications for the aging-in-place. Live instructor online so you can ask questions.
$85 Members / $95 Non-members – see info above. Self paced learning with modules.
Tuesdays & Thursdays 4pm – 8pm – Allegan County Area Technical & Education Center
This 60-hour course is designed for students interested in entry-level positions in the building industry. Become familiar with the basics in construction, including blueprint reading, and the use of tools and techniques on a job site.
The cost of the class is $600. Financial assistance may be available through West Michigan Works! Adults wishing to earn their GED or high school diploma may be able to take the class at no cost.
$85 Members / $95 Non-members. If you received your Michigan Builders License before 1/1/09, you only need a 3-Hour Code, Law, Safety course to renew your license by May 31. If you were licensed on or after 1/1/09, you must complete 21 hours by your third-year anniversary and another 21 hours by your sixth-year anniversary, with a minimum of 3 hours per year. After 6 years of licensing, you only need to take the 3-hour Code/Law/Safety once during each 3-year licensing cycle. Renewal for builder’s license deadline is May 31. During the seminar, the following mandatory topics will be presented in three 1-hour modules: Safety, Codes, Legal Issues
$200.00 Members/ $250.00 Non-members –This is an EPA required “Blended” class, which means you must take part of this class in person for a Review, Hands-On, & Final Test in person. You can make your in-person class selection from the class dates listed below. You must receive a score of at least 80% on the online portion. The online portion must be completed 48 hours prior to the class date. Course certification is valid for 5 years. *** This course is approved for builders continuing education credit hours. (Class in Petoskey)
$150.00 Member / $175.00 non – member — EPA RRP Refresher 100% On-Line Requirements for Registering for the EPA RRP Refresher IMPORTANT NOTICE: Before you register Submit a copy of your current certificate. We are required to review your eligibility. Your current certification must not be expired before you complete the Refresher course. You may not take the Refresher course until verification is complete. RENEWALS: You may only take this online refresher course to renew your certification every other cycle. After completing a hands-on classroom course, your certification is valid for 5 years. After completing our online refresher course, your certification is valid for 3 years.
Members $700 / Non-members $800 — This course is the State approved Residential Builders Licensure. You will learn all seven disciplines (42 hours of instruction) in addition to elective (18 hours of instruction to fulfill the 60-hour State requirement. You will receive the application forms and information needed regarding the Residential Builders exam. You will receive 9 books, including the residential codebook. NOTE: No fees will be charged in addition
to the tuition listed above. Two hours in person, class in Petoskey at HBANM offices, and 18 hours online with a live instructor (more details to follow.)
Become a Certified Aging-in-Place Specialist (CAPS) and take the Universal Design Essentials course, now available in a virtual classroom.
Gail Stocks, founder and principal of EZ Way To Stay and NAHB approved instructor, is offering these courses in a virtual classroom at a substantial discount. Gail is an occupational therapist and accessibility specialist with decades of experience working with clients across the spectrum of ages
Course and Description
Successful completion of CAPS 1, 2, and 3 are required to earn CAPS designation. Each course provides 6 hours AOTA continuing education credits.
Marketing & Communicating with the Aging in Place
Client (CAPS I)
Select One Date:
June 28, August 3, August 24 – 8:30am – 4:30pm ET
Design Concepts for Livable Homes and Aging in Place (CAPS II)
Select One Date:
June 29, August 4, August 25 – 8:30am – 4:30pm ET
Details & Solutions for Livable Homes & Aging in Place (CAPS III)
Select One Date:
June 30, August 5, August 26 – 8:30am – 4:30pm ET
Universal Design Essentials
Select One Date:
July 1, August 6, August 27 – 8:30am – 4:30pm ET
Each course is one day. Fee for each day is $225 for
NAHB members and $250 for nonmembers.
• Discounted rate of $625 members /$700 nonmembers
who sign up for CAPS 1,2,3 at the same time.
• Discounted rate of $825 members/ $925 nonmembers
who sign up for all 4 courses at the same time.